The consequences for committing theft can vary widely based on how serious the theft offense is. Any aggravating factors could influence the severity of the punishment, such as burglary, which could be a violent crime if it includes an assault. Florida has relatively harsh laws regarding theft, as it can result in long prison sentences. For the greatest chance of mitigating possible penalties, reach out to the Law Office of Donald P. Day for an experienced Marco Island theft lawyer and law firm.
The types of theft in Marco Island, Florida include petit theft, grand theft, and retail theft. They each have their own penalties, depending on their severity.
The lowest theft offense in Florida is petit theft, otherwise known as petty theft. This level of theft is typically a misdemeanor, with penalties including jail time and a fine.
Grand theft is a felony crime in the state of Florida and can have serious consequences for the offender if there is a conviction.
Shoplifting is classified under the general penalties of theft but has some specific criminal and civil penalties. Shoplifters who are repeat offenders can be ordered by the court to pay between $50 and $1,000 in fines or do community service. Using an anti-shoplifting device is a third-degree felony.
In terms of civil penalties, someone who engages in theft may have to pay the victim three times the value of the damages or $200, depending on which is the greater amount. They may also have to repay the victim for any fees that went toward a lawyer or court.
A lawyer can defend you against theft charges with the following strategies:
For any charges involving theft, hire a criminal defense lawyer who knows which defenses could benefit your case. An attorney can work to negotiate a plea deal, get your charges reduced or dropped, and defend you in court.
According to Florida statutes, someone commits theft if they knowingly take, use, or attempt to take or use another person’s property for themselves or someone else. Intending to deny a person the right to their property is also theft. The penalties for theft can vary based on the type of theft committed and if there are any aggravating factors.
Theft can qualify as either a felony or a misdemeanor in Florida. Classifying the offense as one or the other depends on a few factors of the case, including how many times the offender has committed theft in the past and what kind of theft was committed. Petit theft is usually classified as a misdemeanor, while grand theft is classified as a felony.
It is entirely possible for a shoplifter to receive jail time in Florida, even if it is their first offense. Petit theft carries the lowest jail sentence of up to 60 days for stealing things that have less than a $100 value. The amount of jail time one receives for a first-time theft is based on the specifics of their case and the ability of their attorney to advocate on their behalf.
The statute of limitations for theft depends on how severe the theft offense was. In Florida, misdemeanors in the first degree have a statute of limitations of two years, while misdemeanors in the second degree have a statute of limitations of one year. Felony theft offenses in the first degree typically have a statute of limitations of four years, while second and third-degree felony offenses have one of three years.
If you or someone you know has been charged with theft, you’ll want a skilled lawyer on your side. Contact the Law Office of Donald P. Day for legal assistance. With a combined 45 years of experience handling criminal cases, our team has the skill set and the knowledge to confidently serve you.